Shitcanned

August 30, 2004

So I was terminated from Friendster today. The reason given was blogging.

The levels of irony on this are pretty deep. For one thing, I wrote a fairly well-known paper last year about the need for semi-permeable blogging. For another thing, by all accounts the particular posts that led to my termination were this one and this one (although feel free to check my archives for any other incriminating information). I try really hard not to blog about anything that is not a matter of public record… but I guess that’s not protection any more. You get Slashdotted, make Udell’s column, lose your job. And finally, it’s especially ironic because Friendster, of course, is a company that is all about getting people to reveal information about themselves…

Let me note that I loved working for my VP of engineering, Jeff Winner, and I loved my team with all my heart. I worked really hard for that company, and I don’t think I have anything to be ashamed of.

13 Responses to “Shitcanned”

  1. Gnome-Girl Says:

    If you start an online company that services are all based on cyber communities, social networking, and any thing else…


  2. Some unfortunate souls have been terminated for blogging. Microsoft Fires for Blogging Online Weblog Leads to Firing Troutgirl was fired for blogging about Friendster’s switch to PHP. What’s interesting about this one is that the story was already on other…


  3. Friendster, a supposedly hip and Net-savy social networking site, fired one of it’s programmers who posted some minor gripes about internal changes at the company on her Weblog. That’s prompted an outcry by other bloggers and a blogosphere drive to get people to cancel their Friendster accounts in protest. Power to the people…


  4. Always being on the lookout for better ways to manage and share photo’s, I recently discovered flickr. This is a really cool online service which seems to combine the benefits of a good online photo gallery app with a friendster…


  5. I didn’t even know that RH was still in business? Anyway, they got an interview out of Joyce on her recent shitcanning from Friendster. Check it out. [via Shel Holtz]…


  6. Encore pas mal dans le jus, mais c’est un des avantages d’être son propre boss, j’ai envie de blogger un peu, je ne vais quand même pas moi-même me congédier pour avoir écrit sur mon carnet… Donc, sans aucune raison précise, je vous partage deux chansons qui sont plus souvent que d’autres dans mes oreilles par les temps qui courent: 1985 (extrait/paroles) rappel cynique des années 80, juste assez loin pour que je ne me sente pas directement concerné et juste assez près pour que ça me fasse sourire (ie: je n’étais pas “way before nirvana”, j’étais en plein dedans!) et Loin d’ici des Trois Accords (extrait/paroles), le dernier CD que je me suis acheté, avec des guitares au moins aussi décapantes que Nirvana et un humour cynique/sarcastique au moins équivalent à la déprime post-moderne-grunge des fameux rockers de Seattle… Je ne m’ennuie point donc, surtout qu’en attendant d’avoir du budget pour un iPod je me suis procuré un lecteur protatif de CD qui lit les MP3, génial avec iTunes, un click pour exporter/brûler mes 150 chansons les plus jouées sur un CD… vive la musique numérique!!…


  7. So here’s what has happened in the past couple of days: I recently transferred to another group within Yahoo!. As per some of the other groups I’ve previously worked on, the group is top secret, and we’ve all learned our…


  8. A little birdie told me that Friendster (aka, the company that fires employees for blogging non-secrets) has launched a new blog/RSS oriented feature–presumably in an effort to remain marginally relevant. I shit you not. I can’t verify it first hand, since I have no Friendster account anymore. And most of my friends don’t either. (Imagine that!) But they’ve published some help pages related to it, including What is RSS? and I entered my RSS link in my profile, but I…


  9. I have added a new category called Blogging. Initially I didn’t have one for the subject of blogging because I didn’t realize how this medium of information would have such a discursive side to it. Bloggers have been threatened with…


  10. According to BoingBoing, close to two dozen companies (yes, some are brand names) have fired or punished employees for blogging. Get the list here. Includes Delta Air Lines, Wells Fargo, Starbucks, The Houston Chronicle, The St. Louis Post-Dispatch, Nunavut Tourism, , the Committee on Degrees in Social Studies, Harvard University, Maricopa County Superior Court of Arizona Self Help Center and…

  11. orangehat Says:

    ninetyninezeros (Google) is the latest casualty in the increasing amount of people getting fired from their companies for blogging about work-related items or some similar situation. The thing that stands out to me most is that I don’t feel that…


  12. Yet another blogger is canned for blogging – this time it’s Troutgirl (Joyce Park) who was fired by Friendster. Yet another reason why i try very, very hard not to blog about work (besides trying to prove to myself…


Comments are closed.

