No news is OK news

October 2, 2004

People seem to wonder, so let me mention that I have not taken a job. I spent 30 days straight running around meeting some of the most amazing people in the business, and I’m amazed by the energy revving up in the Valley right now… but I’m cashing no one’s checks yet. I wish I could mention a lot of the coolness I saw, but I feel like practically every thought in my head is covered by someone’s NDA at the moment.

Any spare time not spent on interviews, I visited the family and tried to deal with the car situation. As expected, the repair on the transmission of the Stealthmobile cost more than the car was worth… so I donated it to the Apache Software Foundation (or tried to, the donating charity might have screwed up). It’s kind of humiliating to buy a car without having a job, but luckily Tim promised to share his creditworthiness with me in solvency or in unemployment as long as we both shall live.

I’m thinking I could use a little break now. This has been a pretty hectic 9 months — lots of highs, lots of lows. I have some little projects to keep me busy for a few weeks, and then we’ll see where it’s at.

