OSCON 2005 talk

July 10, 2005

I think I forgot to mention that I’m going to be speaking at OSCON this year. My session is entitled Using XSLT in PHP5, and will be on Wednesday August 3rd at 2:35. I’m happy I snagged a primo time that doesn’t conflict with any of my friends, yay O’Reilly!

The funny thing is, I actually submitted two proposals this year. The other one was a talk on retrofitting social networking onto any site with user data, which I thought would be a gimme (although I actually planned to spend a lot of time telling people not to do it). Instead, by the strange Arrow’s Theorem of Open Source Conferences, that one got dumped and my homely little XSLT chat was voted in. What could be less sexy than XSLT?!???! Although I will be discussing Sterling Hughes’s FastXSL extension, newly ported to PHP5… I guess that’s kinda sexy.

I think we will also be doing a 106 Miles session in Portland, probably on Wednesday evening — so if you’ve ever wanted to attend one, this is the time to let me know via email or the comments to this entry. I’m going to try to get someone to speak on some topic related to building a business with Open Source software, and we’ll have some free-as-in-beer beer and pizza. It’s a good time for entrepreneurial engineers, and space is limited. I’ll try to give as much priority as I can to people who aren’t from Silicon Valley and therefore haven’t ever had the opportunity to attend a 106 session, but please let me know early. See you in Portland!

8 Responses to “OSCON 2005 talk”

  1. Ben Ramsey Says:

    I’m interested in attending the 106 Miles session in Portland. Please send me more information/an invite.

    Thanks!


  2. I’d also like to attend. 🙂


  3. Will you speak to a journalist with
    Friday deadline?

    subject: corporate blogging.

    Thanks for your consideration.
    510 208 6416.

    Cordially,
    Francine Brevetti


  4. I’d love to join, can you include me as well? Thank you very much!

  5. Sam Keen Says:

    I would very much like to join


  6. I might be considerably late on my request, but Alex Russell says I should talk to you… and I would love to go to the 106 Mi thing, even if I have to stand the whole time! 😉

  7. David Mankin Says:

    My buddy and I would love to come. Sorry for the late notice. I hope there’s a little bit of beer left.

  8. Justin Watt Says:

    I’m interested in attending a 106 miles session in Portland.


Leave a Reply

