Perfect record ruined

September 24, 2005

Sigh. So in 19 years of driving, I’ve not only never gotten a moving violation — I’ve never even been pulled over for one. I know people who drive like 80-year old grandmas who have been pulled over multiple times (hi Rifkin!), but I’ve always managed to escape… until now.

Orange County. Dusk. Motorcycle cop. 86 in a 65 zone. I didn’t mind the ticket so much as I minded the stern lecture — just give me the damn citation and get out of my face, dude. Grump. Oh well, it was inevitable given the way I drive.

5 Responses to “Perfect record ruined”

  1. blueZhift Says:

    Wow, 86, you were really kickin it! The last time I got a speeding ticket, it was in some lame-o speed trap in the western suburbs of Chicago. I ended up having to go to traffic school. I actually picked up a few useful tips, but it was really annoying how the instructor would never admit that there are times when exceeding the posted limit is a good thing to do. At the end of it all, I resisted the urge to lay down some rubber in the parking lot.

  2. Antonio Says:

    13 years or driving here and never been pulled over, I speed all the time so I wonder how much longer…

  3. Kevin Burton Says:

    hm.. I wonder what your rights are here.. it’s not like you HAVE to listen to a ‘stern lecture’ from a cop. You have the right to not be harrassed. Of course I’m sure he could always make it harder on you…

  4. Derek Says:

    Thats what I like about Arizona. The cops have warnings, and they know how to use them. Seriously, you have to be going more than 20 mph over the speed limit to ever raise their ire (and the limit is 75 out here).

  5. Rifkin Says:

    I drive like an 80-year old grandma?

    Freakin’ sweet!!


Leave a Reply

