Google recruiting ad

May 25, 2006

I have to wonder about Google’s recruiting campaign featuring fearsomely perfect fem-bot engineer Niniane Wang (who was totally robbed in the Valleywag hotties-of-Google contest, by the way). Am I supposed to read it and think, “I’m as smart as her! Google’s the place for me!”? If I actually end up thinking something more like, “Wow, this ad makes me feel like even more of a fuckup in comparison to Niniane… I could never get a job there…” — does that mean I lack the self-confidence necessary to work at the Goog?

And who the crap is the intended target audience here? I am, for instance, a female engineer with experience building highly-personalized social networking apps — so roughly speaking the same kind of thing that Niniane seems to be doing. Are Google’s recruiters trying to get the resumes of people like me? If so, let me say that this focus group of one reacted quite badly to the ad. I’m guessing this kind of thing would actually work a lot better on young male CS grads with boundless self-esteem about their raw intelligence.

7 Responses to “Google recruiting ad”

  1. Ben Ramsey Says:

    I agree. Once I tried filling out one of Google’s questionaires that you’re supposed to send back to them for a potential job. It’s sort of a logic test, but it made me feel stupid, so I gave up and didn’t apply. I can’t compete with people like Niniane because her intelligence obviously dwarfs mine–and maybe that’s the point: Google only wants those who know they are “all that” have have IQs of 1001. If that’s their goal, then they’ve done a good job of weeding out those of us who are apparently too dumb to work for them.

  2. Aaron Says:

    Since they’ve emptied the smart people pool, they are now dipping into the pool of people who think they are smart.


  3. since I obviously can’t dazzle them with my brillance – maybe I can stun them with my good looks. 😉 Yeah – right…

    I always feel like an idiot whenever I look at their specifications for a job.

  4. Goatse Tart Says:

    If she’s so friggin’ smart, why is she wasting her time working at google when she could be implementing her next brilliant idea on her own startup?

  5. dabug Says:

    Don’t be too hard on yourself. I think it’s all political posturing by Google and capitalizing on Microsoft’s fear that for the first time there is a scrappy young start up could do real damage to the status quo they’ve enjoyed over the last 20 years.

    Google set up shop nearby a couple of years ago and they’re too busy raiding the hallowed halls of the Redmond campus for the best and brightest to notice other deserving candidates.(IMHO)

    My take is that Google’s on a payback mission to punish a handful of industry giants who blew them off as a one-trick-pony when they first got started. Chances are, only their competitive objective caused them to overlook you for the moment.

    There. Now you feel better, I hope? Don’t beat yourself up about it. I’m sure Google will be back. They don’t let the good ones get away!

    The silver lining in this dark cloud of reality is that the last time Microsoft felt threatened, they produced the most advanced, full-featured, ahead of its time browser for that time in order to crush Netscape. No doubt that scenario will repeat itself with Google right in Microsoft’s backyard. I’m confident Microsoft’s fighting spirit will come back and and very soon we will again be seeing the best stuff from Redmond ever!
    Ciao! kmr from Rain City, aka Seattle.

  6. lisa Says:

    I never thought I’d see a company as arrogant as Microsoft, until I saw Google.

  7. Bob Says:

    Reading the Google ad, to me, makes Niniane sound super-smart, and I guess super-credentialed besides.

    But the weird thing is, I’ve read much of Niniane’s blog, and there she’s struck me as interesting, and smart in some ways, but not obviously super-smart.

    So I don’t know what to think.

    Maybe she’s trying to write accessibly in her blog, so she avoids the super-smart stuff?

    But then, if I look at the Google ad again and think carefully, I can reason that various facts about her don’t have to mean that she’s super-smart. I do find, for example, that under today’s patent laws anyone of above-average intelligence could be co-inventor on nineteen patents. (But being truly briliant can sometimes raise the odds that someone will pay your patent fees for you. 🙂


Leave a Reply

